Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve recently been reading a lot about nutrition, wellness, and health. One topic of interest to me is healthy nails. I noticed that my nails have been brittle and peeling lately, so I did some research about how to make them stronger, and what kind of vitamins I might be needing.

If your nails are exposed to moisture (such as from frequently washing dishes), your nails may be more prone to softening, or if you work with your hands a lot, they can be subject to more wear and tear than is desired. Vitamin deficiencies can also be a culprit. A coat of clear polish can help your nails resist damage, but I think strong nails should start with proper nutrition.

Supplements to try for nail health:

Linolenic acid: This acid can be found in flaxseeds, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, tofu, and vegetable oil

Iron: A lot of women don’t get enough iron, especially if they don’t eat much meat. Try getting a daily vitamin that has iron included. According to WebMd, iron-rich foods include red meat, eggs, spinach and dark greens, raisins, clams, scallops, beans, lentils, chickpeas, and artichokes.

Biotin: Foods containing biotin include milk and dairy, eggs, nuts, carrots, swiss chard, halibut, and strawberries.

Keep in mind, I’m not an expert, and this information I’m sharing below is found on the internet, albeit from reliable sources. Feel free to leave a comment sharing your own knowledge!

